Search Box

Copa América 2024: Host Cities, MLS Venues, and Team Qualifications

 Copa América 2024: Host Cities, MLS Venues, and Team Qualifications

Copa América 2024
Conmebol's President Paraguayan Alejandro Dominguez speaks during a press conference to present Conmebol's new logo for the Copa America 2024 in Luque, Paraguay (Image-Getty)

Conmebol has officially disclosed the lineup of 14 host cities and stadiums, along with the comprehensive match schedule for the 2024 Copa América, set to unfold in the United States from June 20 to July 14.

This highly anticipated competition will showcase a total of 32 matches, engaging 16 participating nations—10 hailing from South America and six qualifiers from Concacaf. Significantly, several of the selected venues will also serve as hosts for matches in the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

The designated host stadiums comprise a diverse array, with five Major League Soccer (MLS) venues, denoted by bold formatting, playing a pivotal role in the tournament. The inaugural match is scheduled to take place at Atlanta United's Mercedes-Benz Stadium. The complete list of host stadiums is as follows:

- Allegiant Stadium - Las Vegas, Nevada

- AT&T Stadium - Arlington, Texas

- Bank of America Stadium - Charlotte, North Carolina

- Children's Mercy Park - Kansas City, Kansas

- Exploria Stadium - Orlando, Florida

- GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium - Kansas City, Missouri

- Hard Rock Stadium - Miami Gardens, Florida

- Levi's Stadium - Santa Clara, California

- Mercedes-Benz Stadium - Atlanta, Georgia

- MetLife Stadium - East Rutherford, New Jersey

- NRG Stadium - Houston, Texas

- Q2 Stadium - Austin, Texas

- SoFi Stadium - Inglewood, California

- State Farm Stadium - Glendale, Arizona

In addition to Mercedes-Benz Stadium, the selected MLS venues include Bank of America Stadium (home to Charlotte FC), Children's Mercy Park (home to Sporting Kansas City), Exploria Stadium (home to Orlando City SC), and Q2 Stadium (home to Austin FC). This strategic distribution ensures a diverse and widespread presence of host cities, promising an engaging and dynamic Copa América tournament.

Tournament Schedule:

- Group Stage: June 20 to July 2

- Quarterfinals: July 4 to 6

- Semifinals: July 9 and 10

- Third-Place Match: July 13

- Final: July 14

The grand finale is slated for July 14 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami, while the third-place showdown will unfold on July 13 at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte.

In adherence to the current schedule, the US men's national team is set to participate in Group C, featuring matches at the following venues:

- June 23: AT&T Stadium (Arlington, Texas)

- June 27: Mercedes-Benz Stadium (Atlanta, Georgia)

- July 1: GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium (Kansas City, Missouri)

The illustrious Inter Miami CF forward, Lionel Messi, and the reigning World Cup/Copa América champions, Argentina, are poised to engage in Group A clashes at:

- June 20: Mercedes-Benz Stadium (Atlanta, Georgia)

- June 25: MetLife Stadium (East Rutherford, New Jersey)

- June 29: Hard Rock Stadium (Miami Gardens, Florida)

The Copa América draw, a pivotal event determining group compositions, is scheduled for December 7 at 7:30 pm ET in Miami. During this draw, the 16 participating teams will be allocated into four groups, each featuring four teams. This draw sets the stage for an exciting and highly anticipated tournament, showcasing top-tier football talent from the Americas.

Qualifying Teams:

All ten South American nations under Conmebol's jurisdiction automatically secure a spot in the Copa America. These include:

1. Argentina (as the title holders)

2. Bolivia

3. Brazil

4. Chile

5. Colombia

6. Ecuador

7. Paraguay

8. Peru

9. Uruguay

10. Venezuela

Additionally, four Concacaf teams have earned qualification by advancing to the 2023–24 Concacaf Nations League A semifinals. These teams are:

1. Jamaica

2. Mexico

3. Panama

4. United States

Furthermore, two more Concacaf teams will secure their spots through playoff games scheduled for March 23 at Toyota Stadium, the home of FC Dallas. The qualifying matches are:

1. Winner of Canada vs. Trinidad and Tobago

2. Winner of Costa Rica vs. Honduras

This comprehensive representation underscores the diverse and competitive nature of the Copa America, with teams from both Conmebol and Concacaf regions vying for glory in this prestigious tournament.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url