Search Box

FIFA Awards 2023 Premier League Dominance and Manchester City's Triumph

 FIFA Awards 2023 Premier League Dominance and Manchester City's Triumph

Erling Haaland of Manchester City
Erling Haaland of Manchester City is asked to pose for a photograph with the FIFA Club World Cup Trophy after their team's victory in the FIFA Club World Cup Saudi Arabia 2023 Final match between Manchester City and Fluminense at King Abdullah Sports City on December 22, 2023 in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia(Image-Getty) 

Premier League talent is well-represented at The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023, scheduled for Monday in London at 19:30 GMT. The FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11, determined exclusively by professional footballers, honors the top 11 players annually.

A noteworthy aspect of this year's nominations is the significant Premier League presence, with 12 out of the 23 players in the men's category either currently playing in the Premier League or having been part of the competition in 2023. Impressively, nine of these nominees contributed to Manchester City's championship success.

The stars from Manchester City include Ederson, Kyle Walker, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Rodri, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, and Ilkay Gundogan, who has since moved to Barcelona. Notably, they form the most-represented contingent from the Premier League, reflecting their triumphant season with a historic Treble – securing the FA Cup and their inaugural UEFA Champions League title in addition to the Premier League crown.

Other Premier League figures receiving nominations are Aston Villa's Emiliano Martinez, Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk, and former Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane, now plying his trade at Bayern Munich.

In individual award categories, Erling Haaland is a contender for Best Men's Player, alongside Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi. Ederson, the standout goalkeeper, is among the three nominees for Best Men's Goalkeeper.

The evaluation period for men's achievements spans from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023. Pep Guardiola, Manchester City's manager, is vying for the title of Best Men's Coach, marking his third consecutive appearance in the category.

A notable mention goes to Julio Enciso, the sole Premier League representative in the FIFA Puskas award for Best Goal. Enciso's extraordinary strike for Brighton & Hove Albion against Manchester City in May, which secured the Budweiser Goal of the Season award for 2022/23, has earned him a deserved nomination.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url