Search Box

CONMEBOL Copa América 2024: History, Format, and Teams

CONMEBOL Copa América 2024: History, Format, and Teams

CONMEBOL Copa América 2024
The Copa America logo is reflected prior to the official draw of CONMEBOL Copa America 2024 at James L. Knight Center on December 07, 2023 in Miami, Florida.(Image-Getty) 

Comprehensive Guide to the CONMEBOL Copa América™ 2024: History, Format, and Teams


With just 50 days left until kickoff, delve into the rich history, format, and teams of the upcoming 48th edition of the CONMEBOL Copa América™ set to take place in the United States.

More than 100 years of history:

Since its inception in 1916 with four teams, the tournament has evolved to include all 10 CONMEBOL members. Invited teams like Mexico and the United States have also left their mark, with Argentina, Uruguay, and Brazil dominating titles.


In this edition, 16 teams will compete, divided into four groups. The top two from each group will advance to the knockout phase, ensuring an intense competition similar to the 2016 tournament.


Argentina and Uruguay lead with 15 titles each, followed by Brazil with 9. Other nations like Chile, Paraguay, and Peru have also left their mark on the tournament's history.

Current Edition:

The CONMEBOL Copa América United States 2024™ will feature 32 matches across 14 stadiums in the US. The tournament kicks off on June 20, with the final scheduled for July 14 at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida.

Big Stars on the Big Stage:

Expect to witness top-tier talent grace the tournament, including Lionel Messi, Christian Pulisic, and Neymar Jr., showcasing their skills on the grandest stage of South American football.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url