Search Box

How will Copa America 2024 work?

 How will Copa America 2024 work?

How will Copa America 2024 work?
How will Copa America 2024 work?(Image-Getty)

The CONMEBOL, the governing body for South American soccer, officially announced the schedule on Tuesday for the upcoming 2024 Copa América. The selection of host cities is still pending, awaiting the decision of tournament organizers.

The 2024 Copa América will feature a total of 16 teams in the competition. Ten teams hailing from South America will participate, while an additional six teams from North and Central America, as well as the Caribbean, will also take part. The teams that will qualify include the top four semifinalists from the 2023-24 CONCACAF Nations League, along with two victors emerging from play-in matches involving the four quarterfinal losers.

The reigning champion of the Copa América is Argentina, and they will be vying to defend their title in this edition of the tournament.

Looking back, the previous Copa América took place in the United States from June 3rd to 26th in 2016. It also encompassed a roster of 16 competing teams. The matches were held across various cities including Chicago, East Rutherford in New Jersey, Foxborough in Massachusetts, Glendale in Arizona, Houston, Orlando in Florida, Pasadena in California, Philadelphia, Santa Clara in California, and Seattle. The climactic final match was held at East Rutherford.

In a statement, CONMEBOL president Alejandro Domínguez expressed his anticipation for the upcoming event, noting that this new edition of the tournament will provide an opportunity for fans to come together and immerse themselves in the passion that the competition evokes.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url