Search Box

Who is eligible for the Copa America 2024?

 Who is eligible for the Copa America 2024?

Who is eligible for the Copa America 2024?
Who is eligible for the Copa America 2024?

CONMEBOL has officially announced the dates for the 2024 Copa America tournament, a renowned competition that typically features South American nations. Remarkably, this marks the second time that the United States has been selected as the host country for the tournament, with their previous hosting experience taking place in 2016. During the 2016 tournament, the United States Men's National Team (USMNT) actively participated and successfully reached the semifinals, showcasing their prowess on the global soccer stage.

According to the recent declaration made by CONMEBOL on a Tuesday, the forthcoming Copa America is scheduled to kick off on June 20th and culminate with the grand final on July 14th of the same year. Despite having the privilege of hosting the tournament, the USMNT is not automatically granted a guaranteed spot in the competition. On the contrary, all ten South American teams have already secured their positions for the 2024 Copa America. Among these teams are prominent nations such as Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

The remaining spots in the tournament will be occupied by six additional teams from the CONCACAF region. Four of these vacant slots will be awarded to teams based on their performance in the 2023/24 CONCACAF Nations League A semifinals. The two final qualification spots will be determined through play-in games, adding an element of suspense to the selection process.

The decision to hold the upcoming Copa America in the United States has not only been guided by historical and emotional ties, but also by the shared enthusiasm for football that binds the soccer community. CONMEBOL President Alejandro Dominguez emphasized this aspect, stating, "Our unity is not just based on historical and emotional ties, but also our shared enthusiasm for football." He further expressed the desire to expand collaborative projects and initiatives, fostering a stronger connection between the two regions through meaningful competitions.

Echoing similar sentiments, Victor Montagliani, the president of CONCACAF, underscored the importance of collaboration and the opportunities it brings. He mentioned, "This collaboration will provide more opportunities for our federations and cater to the demands of our passionate fanbase." Montagliani also expressed the commitment to work alongside CONMEBOL to ensure the continuous growth and prosperity of football in both regions.

The 2024 Copa America holds significance not only as a prestigious soccer event but also as the first of two major tournaments set to take place in the United States in the near future. Looking ahead, the United States, Canada, and Mexico have been granted the privilege of hosting the 2026 World Cup, a milestone event in the global soccer calendar. Additionally, the possibility of the United States hosting the 2027 Women's World Cup adds to the country's growing prominence in the world of soccer.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url