Search Box

SheBelieves Cup 2024: USWNT Returns to Atlanta

 SheBelieves Cup 2024: USWNT Returns to Atlanta

Nicolette Hernandez of Mexico
Nicolette Hernandez of Mexico runs with the ball during the Concacaf W Gold Cup Qualifier match between Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago at Hidalgo Stadium on September 26, 2023 in Pachuca, Mexico.(Image-Getty) 

The ninth edition of the SheBelieves Cup, presented by Visa®, is set to kick off on April 6 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, the future home of the U.S. Soccer National Training Center. The U.S. Women’s National Team will play at 12:30 p.m. ET, with the second game of the doubleheader at 3:30 p.m. ET.

Due to changes in FIFA competition windows and the Concacaf W Gold Cup in February and March, this year's SheBelieves Cup format will feature four matches instead of the usual six. The teams will compete in semifinals on April 6, followed by a third-place match and the championship game on April 9. The other three participating nations, all from the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, will be announced in the new year, along with the April 9 venue for the placement matches. The format will return to three doubleheaders in 2025.

For the matches at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, U.S. Soccer will install a grass surface. This marks the USWNT’s first match at a U.S. venue for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, with the venue being one of the hosts for the tournament. The team previously played at the 2026 FIFA World Cup venue BBVA Stadium in Monterrey, Mexico, during the 2022 Concacaf W Championship.

U.S. Soccer President Cindy Parlow Cone expressed excitement about these matches being the first U.S. Soccer-controlled matches of the Olympic year for the Women’s National Team. She anticipates strong support at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, emphasizing the significance of playing in the Atlanta area since the announcement of the National Training Center's location.

The SheBelieves Cup is part of U.S. Soccer’s SheBelieves initiative, aiming to inspire and empower women and girls in sports and beyond. These matches will follow the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup and mark the beginning of six domestic matches for the U.S. Women before the 2024 Olympics in France.

The SheBelieves Cup, inaugurated in 2016, saw the USA winning the first edition, followed by France in 2017. The USA reclaimed the title in 2018, with England topping in 2019. The USA secured victories in 2020, 2021, 2022, and 2023.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url